Hammam Al Ándalus in Madrid

Comments 7 Standard

Ever since my wonderful experience at the Hammam Al Ándalus in Granada (which I wrote about here), I wanted to return straight away! The Hammams are located in Granada, Málaga, Córdoba and Madrid, so if you find yourself in any of these cities, it is definitely worth booking in if you appreciate some well-deserved relaxation.

Unfortunately, I was living in the north of Spain, and therefore a minimum three-hour train journey from the closest Hammam (Madrid) which made it more difficult for me to return. I managed to prevail though, and squeezed in a return trip to Hammam Al Ándalus, this time in Madrid, during my first visit to the capital. It was the perfect treat to end my four months living and studying in Spain, the evening before flying home to the UK.

Relaxation Room

The Hammam in Madrid is excellently located in the city center, between Puerta del Sol and Plaza Mayor which makes it easily accessible and was only a five minute walk from my hostel.

After taking a walking tour during my visit to Madrid, it was interesting to learn that the city itself has a fascinating Moorish history which nowadays is very unknown; originally known as Mayrit, Madrid was founded in the 9th century. Its location in the center of Spain was no coincidence either – at that time, it was a crossroads between the divide of Christian North and Moorish South and therefore in an important defensive position, especially as it is slightly north of Toledo, which was the capital of Spain, to protect it from invasions from the north. Although the Hammam baths bring some of the luxury of Andalucía to the capital nowadays, the baths are in fact perfectly at home here in Madrid, which was once an Arab city with a mosque, souk and hammams, however much of this is now lost and Hammam Al Ándalus is the only hammam now in Madrid.

Still, the cathedral in Madrid, called “Almudena” although named after a medieval icon of the Virgin Mary, the Patron Saint of Madrid, the word “Almudena” in Arabic translates to “the citadel,” and traces of Madrid’s Moorish roots are still to be seen. Therefore, a visit to the Hammam in Madrid is still a culturally enriching experience as well a relaxing one.

My hammam experience this time also started with a 15-minute full-body massage, and I chose the Red Amber oil again as I loved the scent the last time. In the Relaxation room you can find a “Fuente de té” (a tap that provides hot Moroccan Mint tea). I love the tea so much and I drank countless cups of it in between relaxing in the heated pools. There are three pools to choose from: cold (18°C), temperate (36°C) and hot (40°C) and also a steam room, my favourite being the hot pool. I enjoyed starting in the temperate pool, moving on to the hot, the steam room and then cooling off the with cold pool and a shower – I was not as brave as some of the other people who got fully submerged in the cold pool! It is just so cold.

As I went mid-week at 8pm, there were not as many people in the baths as there were when I went to Granada on a Friday evening. This was great as there were fewer people in the pools and I mostly had each area at a time to myself to unwind! I would definitely recommend booking to go during the evening as it allows you to relax after a long day of sight-seeing during the day and I fell asleep easily when I went to bed.

All I have left now is to check out the remaining Hammams in Córdoba and Málaga (hopefully sooner rather than later!), when I am in Spain in the future. I still hope they will expand and come to the UK – it’s cold here and we need some Hammam luxury please…

Hasta luego,

Untitled

7 thoughts on “Hammam Al Ándalus in Madrid

    • Yay, you should as it’s amazing and the perfect thing to add to your itinerary for Madrid! I hope you get to go – Madrid pleasantly surprised me – I thought I’d hate it but in fact I loved it! Looking forward to writing up about my trip soon 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Highlights from Porto | Robyn Bobbing Around

  2. Pingback: Impressions: Madrid | Robyn Bobbing Around

  3. Pingback: Travel Update: Where am I going next? | ROBYN BOBBING AROUND

Leave a Reply

