Berlin, Berlin!

Comments 5 Standard

After 5 months of zero travel, it felt strange packing my bags and heading to the airport for February half term to the German capital. A week away was refreshing, and I had missed that sense of adventure, discovering a new city and all it had to offer.

In this post I am going to give an overview of my trip, sharing the best of accommodation, transport, the costs and the wonderful food. Next post: the best places to visit in Berlin.

****

Meeting me at the other end was one of my closest friends who I hadn’t seen since our Graduation last July, and also my boyfriend who arrived on a separate flight.

She has been studying in Berlin for the last six months, learning German and exploring Berlin, which I think is very exciting. We were lucky enough to visit restaurants, bars and sites we would never have found had we been traveling on our own – even with our beloved TripAdvisor app.

Accommodation

My boyfriend and I booked an Airbnb apartment for the trip and we were both thrilled with it. At £30 each a night, we had our own flat with full amenities, steps from the tram, in the hip area of Prenzauer Berg in what was part of ‘East Berlin’. We booked this accommodation ourselves but fate happened that we were staying on the very same street as my friend! Albeit, it was a very long street and she was 5 stops away on the tram. Still, this was great as we could co-ordinate meeting up much easier than if we were staying on the other side of the city.

Berlin is not a beautiful city;

it is intriguing, has a profoundly interesting and distressing history, it carries a sense of being liberal and slightly rebellious. It is a city of contrasts and its streets are museums in their own right.

6 days in the city gave us enough time to ‘see’ the sights and also to begin to get a feel for the place. At the start of the week, I decided that Berlin was not for me; grimy, so hipster at times that I couldn’t cope, it even reminded me a bit of Budapest which I enjoyed but was not my favourite city. After a few days it really grew on me though. It is a very livable city.

There are three aspects which we enjoyed most about Berlin; its very affordable, the public transport system is great and possibly the most important thing – the food was so good.

It’s an an affordable city

Aside from the cost of flights, accommodation and a 42€ Berlin transport pass, six days in Berlin only cost 100€ for all food, drink and entry to sites. We were not very thrifty as we ate out every lunchtime and evening. I came back with quite a few euros to spare which hardly ever happens.

Transport

We paid the 42$ for a 6-dy transport pass for all tram, bus, U-Bahn and S-Bahn travel in Berlin. This I would highly recommend as we relied heavily on public transport to get around. The transport was always punctual and even had services which run through the night. Moreover, there are no ticket barriers or staff checking passengers for valid tickets. So different to what I know in the UK. There is a sense of trust that people do not abuse the system, however I am sure that there are those that do. Of course, I could have got away with buying no ticket for the entire trip as I never had to show mine, but it is not worth it as you can be charged a heavy fine. Also, as the transport is of such good quality, its worth buying to ensure that this continues.

Delicious food and drink

The three of us agreed that we did not eat one bad meal all week. We discovered wonderful homemade pizzas for 3.90€ that were so good, we went back to the Pizzeria for more on our final night. We discovered a chic cocktail bar in West Berlin, where you have to ring a doorbell to be let in. Berlin does excellent burgers, as we found at Shisho. Beat the queue and spend an hour at the Monkey Bar in the early afternoon and have a birds-eye view over the Berlin Zoo. Or for a more affordable option, visit Bikini Berlins rooftop view next door for a free showing!

See you next time!

5 thoughts on “Berlin, Berlin!

  1. Looking forward to the next posts on Berlin! If I go back, and I am sure I will be at some point, I will check out some of the food and drink places you mentioned! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • The food was so good, I’m sure you would approve!
      I was just sad that the kosher vending machine was out of order at the Jewish Museum, Jocy had made me excited about that!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I love that, that exists! I haven’t been to the Jewish museum. I am hoping that I might be able to go to Berlin this summer so hopefully will go then!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Heard Berlin is very different in the summer, so will need to go! It was so cold in Feb. At least there were not many tourists everywhere!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Berlin: Highlights | ROBYN BOBBING AROUND

Leave a Reply

